Mini Turkey Pot Pies

Ah pot pies. One of my favorite ways to use up leftovers. We had some leftover smoked turkey so I decided to make mini turkey pot pies. Because everything tastes better baked in muffin tins.

Mini Turkey Pot Pie

I think Matt was a little upset at first when I told him I would be making mini pot pies. I think there’s a part of him that likes to create the biggest, most massive pies possible. But nope, this time I took control of the pies.

Usually we just buy frozen veggies, but I never really liked them. As of late, I’ve come to peace with carrots and broccoli. I’m finding them edible. So I decided to get fresh ones because those were the ones I liked before. It really made a difference to me. If you have a picky eater, I would really suggest fresh veggies if possible.

Mini Turkey Pot Pie

But the one thing I could not change was the sweet crust. Sweet crust on a turkey pot pie, what?! Oh yes. It is good. It adds an extra bit of contrast to the pie and really brings out the flavor. Matt loves it and I don’t think we’ll ever make another pot pie without the sweet crust. Trust me it’s good and definitely worth a try!

Crust
1 1/2 cups flour
2 tablespoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/6 cup cold vegetable shortening
1/3 cup cold butter
1/4 cup cold water

1. Combine flour, sugar, and salt in a large bowl. Then add the butter and shortening. Cut the butter and shortening into pieces and mix with a pastry blender or your hands until the mixture resembles coarse meal.

2. Slowly add the water. Work it in to bind the dough until it holds together without being too wet or sticky.

3. Using your hands, press dough firmly into a rough ball, then transfer to a lightly floured surface. Give the dough several quick kneads with the heel of your hand to form a smooth dough, then shape into a ball, flatten slightly to make a round, and dust with flour. Wrap round in plastic and refrigerate for at least a half hour. The longer the better.

Filling
3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 1/2 cups white onions, finely chopped
1 cup finely chopped carrots
1 cups steamed broccoli
2 cups baby red potatoes
2 cups cooked shredded turkey
1 tablespoon fresh minced garlic
1 packet of turkey gravy
1/2 cup cheddar cheese

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. Heat oil in medium dutch oven over medium heat. When hot, saute onions and carrots, for 8-10 minutes or until softened.

3. While onions and carrots are cooking prepare the gravy. Follow the instructions on the packet.

4. Add in broccoli and potatoes to the carrots and onions. Stir and cook for 5 minutes then add in the garlic; cook for 1 minute then add turkey. Reduce heat to low.

5. Pour the gravy over the turkey mixture then top with cheddar cheese, stir to combine.

6. Roll out the dough and into circles for the bottom crust. Use pam or butter the muffin tin before fitting the dough for the bottom crust.

7. Pour filling into bottom crust. Roll out top crust then cut slits for steam to escape. Cover filling with top crust. Seal crusts and wave edge with your fingers.

8. Optional: Whisk egg with water, and brush top crust with egg wash.

9. Bake in preheated oven at 375F for about 25-30 minutes until crust is golden brown.

11 thoughts on “Mini Turkey Pot Pies

  1. Oh how cute! I just love them. Perfect for us and our kids! thanks girl for a great idea. I have done it with taco pie before but not turkey pot pie!

    • Yeah, pot pies are relatively easy. The dough is simple and the filling is easy, it takes a bit of time, but it’s not too difficult to put together.

Leave a comment