Salmon Cakes with Lemon Garlic Aioli

I absolutely love salmon, but on my budget, I can’t really afford it. So one hot summer day, it just felt like a fish day. Well I found a deal at Safeway for a pound of salmon for $5. We were set. But when we tasted it, it was dry, fishy, and just not good. After we had dinner, Matt wanted to throw this salmon away. I wouldn’t let him, I knew I could do something with it.

There’s somewhat of a last resort in cooking I’ve figured out. If something is just so so, like canned tuna or this sad salmon- turn it into a patty with some goodies, cover it in panko, and fry it. Then anyone will eat it. When I was first introducing myself to vegetables, this is how I would try them. The first time I ever willingly ate zucchini was in fritter form.

The lemon garlic aioli is something I’ve been making for a while. I use it for artichokes and beer battered fish. I really don’t like mayo, but once you mix it with garlic, lemon, and olive oil- it really changes the flavor of it. It also keeps well in the fridge as well, so feel free to make extra and keep it in a tupperware in the fridge. In fact, all the flavors meld better over time. It’s good.

Salmon Cakes with Lemon Garlic Aioli

When putting together the salmon mixture, you want to add just enough binding (panko and aioli) to hold it together. But not too much, I always like mine to be mainly salmon. There’s variations of this recipe that use mashed potatoes, but like I said, I like it without a lot of filler.

These can be appetizers, served the way I did above, or as a meal with a salad or as a sandwich. I’m pretty proud of this little dish- I took something that my boyfriend hated and was going to throw out, and turned it into something he loved. They’re very reminiscent of crab cakes, in fact he said “thanks for the crab cakes.”

Salmon Cakes
Makes 10-14 two inch patties

1 lb cooked salmon, flaked with bones and skin removed
1/4 cup green onions, chopped
2 tbsp Italian parsley, finely chopped
1 egg, beaten
1 tsp ginger, grated
1 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp worchestshire
1 tsp salt
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 cup panko or breadcrumbs
2 tbsp parmesan cheese
1 tbsp aioli
oil for frying

1. Combine everything except bread crumbs and oil. Add 1/4 c of bread crumbs and reserve the rest. Gently mix together so that salmon.

2. Form mix into patties, pressing together firmly. If needed add a little more bread crumbs to help everything stay together.

3. Heat oil in a skillet over medium heat. Gently dredge patties in remaining bread crumbs, then place into skillet. Cook each side until it is golden brown. (Turning these can be a delicate operation. It helps to use two spatulas at the same time to prevent the cakes from breaking apart.)

4. Drain on paper towels, serve with aioli, and enjoy.

Lemon Garlic Aioli
1/2 cup mayonnaise
1 tbsp lemon juice, to taste
1 tsp olive oil
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tbsp parsley
Salt and pepper, to taste

1. Mix together all ingredients and enjoy!

One thought on “Salmon Cakes with Lemon Garlic Aioli

Leave a comment