Simple Homemade Brownies

To be honest I’m not really a sweets person. Not that I won’t turn dessert down, I just don’t bake a lot of them. Most of the time dessert for me is just a scoop of ice cream and I’m content.

But last night i just felt like baking. I think it’s because I’m so excited for fall and I can’t wait for the cooler weather and the fall colors. So cookies were the first choice, but since I didn’t have any baking soda, brownies it was!

The brownies were so rich and moist. Definitely thick and fudge-like. It’s a pretty simple recipe and easy to make. Great for those unplanned moments where you just want an effortless dessert. No frills, just an easy way to feed your warm, fudgey, chocolatey cravings.

Simple Homemade Brownies
Recipe from GoodLife Eats

12 tablespoons salted butter
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
2/3 cup cocoa powder
1/2 – 1 teaspoon pure vanilla, orange, or peppermint extract, optional
3 large eggs
1 cup flour
1/2 cup chocolate chunks, optional

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line an 8×8 or 9×9 square baking pan with parchment paper or spray with PAM.

2. Set a medium sized saucepan over medium-high heat and melt the butter. Next, add the granulated sugar and your choice extract. Stir well. Remove pan from heat and whisk in the cocoa powder.

3. In a separate medium bowl, lightly beat the eggs. Pour the chocolate mixture into the bowl and whisk in with the eggs until well combined.

4. Stir in the flour and chocolate chunks, but do not beat.
Pour batter into the previously prepared baking pan.

5. Bake at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes. Cool for at least 15 minutes, on a wire rack.

6. cut the brownies into serving size pieces and store in an airtight container for up to 3 days

Leave a comment