Poaching an Egg

First, you’ve done the first step, clicking on this link to learn to make poached eggs.

I know a lot of people out there won’t even attempt to make them.
But it is really so easy.

Just follow the video below.
I did and when I made my first poached egg it came out perfectly.
Now I love making poached eggs and do it all the time.

So take a deep breath, and give it a try.

Here’s the video that taught me how to make poached eggs from the the Kitchn

How To Poach an Egg from Apartment Therapy: The Kitchn on Vimeo.

Poaching an Egg
1 egg (at a time)
White vinegar
Water

1. Bring a small saucepan 3/4-full of water to a boil over high heat. Lower the heat to low and bring the water back down to a low simmer. There should just be a few bubbles hitting the surface.

2. Add about a tablespoon of white vinegar to the water.

3. Crack the egg into a measuring cup or a small teacup.

4. Slowly lower the cup into the barely simmering water, and tip the egg out into the water.

5. Set the timer for 4 minutes. The egg white should be immediately coagulating in the water.

6. Use the slotted spoon to carefully arrange the egg white into a more compact shape, if you desire.

7. Keep an eye on the water’s heat; make sure it doesn’t come back up to a rolling boil.

8. After 4 minutes, turn off the heat and remove the egg with the slotted spoon. Place it on the plate lined with a paper towel and gently blot it dry.

Tips:

  • Fresh eggs hold together best, but it’s fine if they’re not.  I pretty much never have fresh eggs around.
  • When there is about a minute left I like to gently make sure that my egg isn’t stuck to the bottom of the pot.  Just gently use a horizontal motion to scrape it off if it is.
  • To blot after the egg is cooked, I usually just have it in the slotted, and gently blot the bottom with a paper towel.  If your egg is solid enough, just gently place the paper towel on top.
  • I like to make sure mine is done the way I like it by gently touching the yolk with my finger.  I like to feel just a slight amount of firmness on the edge.

If you’ve tried this technique and it didn’t work for you, please comment and let me know what happened!  We’ll see if we can troubleshoot it.

Leave a comment