Thanksgiving 2010

I hope everyone had a wonderful thanksgiving!

Matt and I left earlier this week for a wonderfully school-free week and stopped in Ojai and Orange County to visit our parents. Sadly I wasn’t able to San Diego to see the rest of my family but we’ll be seeing them over Christmas. This year, Matt and I spent thanksgiving with his family in Ojai.

So I didn’t really make anything special for the holiday. I wanted to bake something or make an appetizer, but everything was well covered. I decided to help all the other cooks because there was already plenty to do. Mainly I took care of the stuffing and mashed potatoes. I’ve never made stuffing put of the box before!

It was Matt’s mom’s recipe. Maybe I’ll try to remember how I made it and post a recipe on the blog later.


Here’s Matt and I with his niece, Micaela, and his nephew, Colby.


Did I mention there were a lot of cooks in the kitchen? And this wasn’t all of them! There was plenty of running around the kitchen.

And the turkey! Matt’s dad brined it then smoked it was delicious! So moist and flavorful! It’s really the way to go with turkey.


MUNCHKIN!


My plate. Suffice it to say, I did not finish it. Not really surprising with the delicious cheese and the massive amount of wine drank before.
But it was so good!

So that was my thanksgiving. Had lots to eat and drink and a ton of people to enjoy it with. Plenty of leftovers, although there never seems to be enough leftover of the turkey for everyone. I will post some recipes with the leftovers until I run out.

How did everyone else’s thanksgiving turn out?

3 thoughts on “Thanksgiving 2010

  1. We don’t have Thanksgiving in Greece so I am waiting for Christmas as this is the occasion on which we had gatherings like that. I see that you had a great time there.

  2. Amanda, you have such a great website!!! I love it. I am so impressed. I will try the smoked gouda mac and cheese tonight for me and the boys. I will let you know how it turns out. I will have to make one adjustment to it and that is I am going to add vegies to it….I know this will be against your wishes but that is the only way to get Colby to eat his vegies.

Leave a comment