Baked Potato Skins Topped With Bacon

I should be studying.

But a girl’s got to eat right?
I can’t just study from the moment I wake up to eleven without eating right?

Well turns out I have nothing in my fridge- no milk, no eggs, no flour, no bread. So I decided it would be a baked potato night. But like I’ve said, I’ve been studying all day, I want to cook something fun if I am going to give myself a break. I happened to stumble on a post at Zesty Cook for baked potato skins and I knew instantly I wanted to try these.

Baked Potato Skins Topped With Bacon

I don’t think I’ve ever had homemade potato skins. And these are just amazing. I know they’re like a party food, but I don’t know how that happens! I’d be the person lingering around the plate just eating them all up! They are so good! Just awesome. The creamy cool sour cream with the crunchy and chewy potato with peppery bacon is just… why haven’t I had these before?!

If you’ve never tried these before, you’re really missing out!

Baked Potato Skins Topped With Bacon
2 potatoes
cheese
cooked chopped bacon
green onions
sour cream
seasonings: salt, pepper, garlic powder, paprika, thyme

1. Scrub the potatoes clean and poke holes with a fork into it. Brush a light coat of olive oil on the skin of the potato then season. Bake at 400F for an hour or until soft. Let cool.

2. Once cool, cut the potatoes in half. Spoon out the potato insides, careful not to disturb the edges. Leave about a 1/4 inch edge. Save the insides for mashed potatoes or potato soup.

3. Brush a light coat olive oil on the inside and season. Add some shredded cheese and pop bake in the oven at 450F.

4. Pull them out once the cheese has melted and is bubbling and the potato has browned a bit (or to your liking) from 10-20 minutes (just keep an eye on them).

5. Let cool for a few minutes just so it doesn’t melt the sour cream. Then top with sour cream, bacon, and green onions!

5 thoughts on “Baked Potato Skins Topped With Bacon

  1. One word: YUM. This looks like the perfect munchie during a study break. I assume you’re working on finals right now? I’ve got one more to go before I’m all done and ready for break. Good luck with yours!!

  2. This is also very yummy if you keep the insides…mash it up with a little sour cream, cheese, chives and bacon…then stuff it back inside the skin and sprinkle with a little more cheese and bacon before grilling until the cheese has melted. Pretty much the same idea as yours just a little more filling!

    • Oooh twice baked potatoes! Funny you should bring that up, I made two potatoes that day- I made one as baked potato skins and used the insides in the other potato for twice baked potatoes. Lol waste not want not!

Leave a comment