Sushi: Philly Roll

Sushi! Quite possibly the easiest sushi roll to make at home, the Philly Roll– made with smoked salmon, cream cheese, and green onions (or avocado or cucumber).

Since it uses smoked salmon, you don’t have to worry about finding sushi grade fish, which can be difficult. Also, you can find all the ingredients at your local groccery store, even the nori and sushi rice if there’s an international section.

Sushi Philly Roll

They’re not perfect and that’s okay. I’m just proud that they look decent, not like the perfect ones at the sushi bar, but they are sooo much cheaper. It’s really just fun to make and enjoy them at home.

Sushi Philly Roll

Unfortunately the nori we bought was a little weird. We used it the night we bought it and it was really chewy. I mean it was annoyingly chewy. I think it was old. I made this roll almost a week later and the nori was hard to work with. So moral of this story, buy nori from a place you can rely on…

Rather than trying to explain how to make sushi, I thought it would be better to give you some resources that I used to make them rather than trying to explain how to make sushi. So here’s some great videos that definitely help and visually demonstrate the process.

This video will help you with making the rice.

And this video will help you with rolling sushi.

More Links
How to Make Sushi at Home from Gimme Some Oven
Recipes for Maki (Rolls) Sushi from Sushi Day
Sushi Rolls- 3 Kinds from Soupbelly
California Roll from Food Wishes (with video)
How to Prepare Perfect Sushi Rice from Food Wishes (with video)

Well I hope you’ll consider making sushi. It may seem scary but you’ll never know if you don’t try. Invite some friends over and make a night of it. Even if the rolls may not turn out as pretty as what you get at a sushi bar, they’ll still taste delicious and you’ll save a ton of money.

What’s you favorite sushi roll and what’s in it?

6 thoughts on “Sushi: Philly Roll

  1. I don’t know why I’m torturing myself by looking at your blog at 530am!!! I wonder if they have any sushi restaurants open for breakfast! haha!

    sushi with cream cheese is always my fav!

Leave a comment