Blueberry and Chocolate Chip Scones

You have Matt to thank for the chocolate chips in this recipe.

Yes, this was going to be just blueberry scones, but Matt wanted to add chocolate chips, and there we have it, our recipe. That is, it was supposed to have a lemon glaze, but I forgot to factor in the glaze when I was deciding if I had enough butter, and unfortunately did not. So there we have it blueberry and chocolate chip scones!

Blueberry and Chocolate Chip Scones

Now I’ve never had scones, but from the sounds of things, most of them tend to be hard and dry. Well this recipe is moist and tender. In fact I would say that the texture more resembled a biscuit. It was spongy and soft, with a nice crunch from the golden browned tops.

Blueberry and Chocolate Chip Scones

The sweetness of the chocolate chips balanced well with the sourness of the blueberries. I’m glad we added them. Plus the kitchen smelled amazing while they were baking!

Oh and if you use frozen blueberries make sure you do not thaw them! They’ll make your scones blue! I had some issues shaping them because the more you handle them after the blueberries are folded in, the bluer your scones get. That’s why they’re a little irregularly shaped. And the blueberries and chocolate chips didn’t really fold into the dough very well. For the most part they tended to linger on the outside which was fine, but not what I expected.

Blueberry and Chocolate Chip Scones

If you’re looking to try making scones, this recipe was very easy! And switch it up and add whatever you want to! I made a savory version too, which I’ll post later!

Blueberry and Chocolate Chips Scones
Adapted from Steamy Kitchen
makes 8 scones

3 cups all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons granulated sugar
1/2 cup butter, softened (1 stick)
2 cups light sour cream
1/4 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 cup fresh blueberries
1/2 cup chocolate chips

1. Preheat the oven to 350F

2. Mix all the dry ingredients together. Cut in softened butter.

3. Gently fold in the sour cream and vanilla. Fold in blueberries. Try not to over work the dough to keep the scones light and delicate.

4. Scoop dough (about 1/2 cup) onto lightly greased cookie sheet and bake 30 minutes (depending on size) or until the tops are golden brown.

9 thoughts on “Blueberry and Chocolate Chip Scones

  1. These look great! I know what you mean about the blueberries, they can be frustrating. Chocolate chips will have to be my next scone adventure. Nice job!

  2. Hey! Your site looks AMAZING, when did you change up the design? And the photos look delicious too…I don’t know what your schedule is like but maybe we should do a recipe trade post soon!

    PS I love scones. My god.

    • Aw thanks you two! You know I love your blog too!

      Yeah I’d definitely be down for a recipe swap! Although I gotta think of something really really good!

Leave a comment