Eggs Poached in Marinara

Ah breakfast, my favorite meal of the day.

Lately I’ve been trying to work on my diet. I’ve been trying to cut carbs as much as possible, but I’ll never be able to let go of them. Just trying to eat less of them. Sometimes breakfast is hard because I want toast or a burrito. I’ve seen eggs poached in marinara out on the internet and I thought this would be a good, filling way to enjoy a runny egg without toast.

We just happened to have some extra marinara open. If you have homemade marinara that would make this above and beyond good or you could make it specifically for this dish, but hey, I like convenience. Who doesn’t usually have some sort of pasta sauce in their cabinet? This dish is cheap, healthy, delicious, and filling, and that is awesome.

Well it was healthy, until I added bacon. If you eat it without toast, I suggest the bacon because it adds a nice crunch. But I would always suggest adding bacon.

I loved this dish. It’s so simple and easy to make. You could make one like I did, or a bigger batch. I’m definitely adding eggs in marinara to my list of breakfast staples.

Eggs Poached in Marinara
Serves 1

1/2 cup marinara sauce
A couple of leaves of basil, slivered (optional)
1 egg
Salt and freshly ground pepper
Parmesan
1 piece of bacon, cooked and chopped

1. Bring the marinara sauce to a simmer in a small saucepan or an 8-inch omelet pan and turn the heat to low.

2. Break the egg or eggs into a teacup, and carefully tip them into the tomato sauce. Cover the pan and simmer over low heat for 3 to 4 minutes, until the tops of the whites are set but the yellow yolk shows through. It’s important that the yolk be runny. Turn off the heat. Season the eggs with salt and pepper to taste.

3. Serve in a wide soup bowl. If desired, serve on top of the garlic toast or with toast on the side. Top with parmesan, basil, and bacon.

7 thoughts on “Eggs Poached in Marinara

Leave a comment